In Old Blogger, after you upload a picture, irrespective of whether you delete the picture from the post or delete the whole post itself, the picture will remain on the web. I believe that is no longer true for New Blogger and I am going to test it in this post. I will post a picture of a castle beside the Sarawak River in Kuching, Borneo Island, Malaysia below:
(photo deleted 24 May 2007)
This picture will be deleted in a few days tine. To enable you to see if the picture is still on the web, I put the URLs of the picture in the scrollbox below:
Update: 26 May 2007: The first link resulted in a webpage displaying the photo. The second and third link lead to Microsoft Photo editor displaying the photo. Looks like I will have to test the links again because if I am not wrong, the Blogger Help page said they will be removed from the web after 24 hours. I have made another post with a picture which will be deleted, and for record purposes, I put the picture URLs below in a scrollbox:
Update 11 June 2007: The result for the first test is still the same. First URL led to a photo on the web, second and third URL led to the photo being downloaded, with the second URL giving a smaller image and the third URL giving a larger photo.
For the second test (post deleted), first URL led to a message [delete+photo.jpg]
and second and third URL led to error message:
The requested URL /s400 was not found on this server.
I want to test again because it has come to my knowledge that when you delete a post with photos, there are options of whether to leave the photo on the web or delete them. It could be that in my deleting post test, the options were below the fold and I did not see it. So I am going to publish another post with photo and then delete the post. Will report again the result.
Update 11 June 2007 (second update): I published a post with 2 images. The URL of the photos are in the scrollbox below, with the first URL being the first one in the HTML for the image (same as the URL you will see in the address bar when you click on a picture), the second being the second URL in the image HTML and the third the actual URL of the image which you get by selecting VIEW > PAGE SOURCE in the menu bar of the browser when you are in a page with just the image:
When I delete the post, the following options appeared and it was right above the fold, very visible. So it must have been introduced after I did the earlier test, otherwise I would have seen it:
I have deleted the post, with one to keep and the other one to be deleted. Let us see what happens after 24 hours.
Update 13 June 2007: I tested the photo URLs above and for the URLs of the photo which I opt to be retained when I deleted the post, the photo could still be seen on the web or can be downloaded. For photo URLs above for which I opted to be deleted, they resulted in a [something] dispalyed (no photo, but cannot copy and paste for Flock browser I am currently using), or resulted in a 404 Not Found error message. You can copy the URLs, paste them in the browser address bar and try them yourself.